Managing Schedules

There are four main ways to manage schedules:

  • Create - to create new schedules to accept customers' bookings.
  • Update - to update a schedule with revised detail.
  • Delete - to delete a schedule that has been cancelled or created in error.
  • Archive - to store a schedule (handy for pricing changes).

These features are accessed through the menu or directly on the schedule table. This is highlighted in the following image:

schedule_page2.png

Create A Schedule

To create a schedule click on New in the menu or the (+) symbol in the toolbar. Completing all mandatory fields in the schedule detail page will enable a new schedule.

Pricing Consequences

While payments for bookings are outstanding, any changes to applicable schedules, services or date series automatically update the correspondingly linked journal.

pricing_consequences.png

However, if payment has been made, changes to prices will not be reflected in the ledger. This means that any retrospective pricing changes have to be applied manually in customers' journals. Thankfully, this situation almost never occurs in most business situations.

To apply pricing changes to your business, you must ensure that you ARCHIVE any schedules which should not be charged using your new scheme. This will sever the schedule booking's link with the journal leaving you free to change your pricing scheme.

Update A Schedule

To update schedules, simply find it's record in the schedule table then click on it to edit the record.

Delete A Schedule

Schedules may only be deleted if there are no attached bookings. Use this feature only if you have created a schedule in error. Schedules which have bookings should be archived as any outstanding charges are delinked from the booking.

To delete, filter the inventory that is meant to be deleted. Click the (-) symbol, mark the schedules for deletion before clicking the "Delete" button.

Archive A Schedule

To archive, filter the inventory you want to archive. Click the (-) symbol, mark the schedules for archive before clicking the "Archive" button.

To find out more about archiving in bulk, see rollover instructions.

Automatic Archiving

Note that schedules are automatically archived once they have elapsed for 180 days. Once archived, any linked journals are disconnected; however, these still remain on the customer's account till they have been paid or written off.

In effect, managers will be able to retain all journal and ledger data forever; however, scheduling and booking data are archived once they are 180 days old.
To change the default archive age, go to My Business > Setup > Other and change the parameter Auto Archive Age. This is the number of days elapsed at which bookings are archived. For example, to set the system to archive once a booking is 30 days elapsed, set this parameter to 30.

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License